Throwback Thursday: The dress!

Oh the dress!!! Many girls dream about this their whole life! And it was my turn! I was going wedding gown shopping. Not only was I going dress shopping, I was going dress shopping in NYC! I went to Kleinfelds and Pronovias. Before I show you the dresses, let me give you a back story. I wasn’t even engaged yet. Don’t judge, I knew the ring had been ordered, and thought it would have been ready. So, I booked a plane ticket to NYC. Sadly, wasn’t ready. But that’s ok, M gave me the thumbs up anyhow. Because we weren’t technically engaged yet, we had done zero wedding planning. We had no venue, we had no date, etc. But, we thought we wanted a fall wedding, and I wanted it to be in a barn. My dream dress was all lace, with a keyhole back. A la: jim-hjelm-bridal-lace-charmeuse-trumpet-gown-sleeveless-v-neckline-natural-waist-taffeta-sash-sweep-train-8663_zm (here’s the back, on a real bride!) 72  

 

So, off I went! I brought tons of inspiration pics of dresses similar to the one above. And guess what? My consultant at Kleinfelds brought me ZERO lace dresses with a keyhole back. ZERO. I was upset, but, she did pick two pretty great dresses. One was a Romona Keveza Legends dress that was lace. It had a high neck and low back (no keyhole, but still very pretty). But, the lace was heavy and thick. That factor alone made me decide against this beauty.

 

 

 

002_primary

 

My other fave  from Kleinfelds was a bit different. I loved it. My mom HATED it. She cried when she realized I was actually considering this dress. It had classic elements, but a modern edge. It was a beautiful Anne Barge, AND they were having a trunk sale that weekend. AND, I met the designer herself!!! The dress was a beautiful silk with a subtle striped pattern to it. But, my FAVORITE part were the grommets!! It gave the dress an edgy quality that I think is hard to find in wedding dresses. My consultant added a birdcage veil, and I was sold. OMG this looks amazing, exactly my style. 

wd_fall10_aba_8462_xl(strangely, this dress has almost completely disappeared from the Internet. Luckily, I had a photo saved on my computer!)

 

The picture does NOT do this dress justice. But, because my mom seemed to hate it so much, we decided to go have lunch so I could think about it, and of course, go to my Pronovias appointment later that day. However, I was sure I’d be back later to Kleinfelds to get measurements and to place my order! 

 

Then, we went to Pronovias. It was so glamorous there. We were given champagne, sat on posh couches. AND, all the gowns were in polka-dot garment bags! OMG, this place was made for me. AND, two former Kleinfelds associates worked at Pronovias now! As soon as I put this gown on, I KNEW. IT WAS IT. It combined so many elements that I wanted – modern but romantic, soft but edgy. It was perfect. AND, also, trunk sale! So, I got it at a discount!

Introducing……THE ONE!!!

It is the Medea gown (Spring 2010). 

medea-medina-spring-2010-wedding-dresses-pronovias-deep-v-neck-drop-waist-origami-bow__full But somehow, the back is even more stunning!

 

I can’t resist, heres pictures of me wearing it!

260146_10150280887962214_2181554_n 260146_10150280887967214_665290_n

(Bottom two pictures are by the amazing Sarah Smith! Click on the pics to go directly to her website!

 

So….

What do you think? Which dress would you have chosen?

 

 

This entry was published on July 10, 2014 at 9:23 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

